Smartphone Gurus
Sign in to follow this  
neilm

Hello to Surface Bluetooth Keyboard- then goodbye!

neilm    851
neilm

I've been using a Microsoft Surface Pro 3 now for nearly three years and it continues to do sterling service. Most of the time I use it in it's dedicated docking station attached to a 24" touchscreen monitor and external keyboard and mouse. 

For a number of years I've been using an old Keysonic wired keyboard I bought at Maplin Electronics. Despite trying a few others I always return to it for the feel of the keys and general responsiveness. I liked the Logitech K810 Bluetooth keyboard very much but the lack of a numeric keypad was an issue I could not live with for everyday office tasks. 

When Microsoft announced a range of new peripherals at the end of last year, I was intrigued by the new Surface Bluetooth Keyboard. This was a standard, enhanced layout Bluetooth keyboard in a compact format, and constructed in a smart aluminium and grey finish consistent with other Surface products. It became available in UK from the Microsoft Education store in March for £80 so I bit the bullet and bought one. The current retail price is £89 including VAT, post and packing from Microsoft.

20170613_113553.thumb.jpg.1ab89b4366e8b504bd1591711844b2fc.jpg

There is no doubt that this is a svelte, good looking keyboard and is well constructed. Although compact, the key pitch is pretty close to a standard keyboard but space has been saved by using very narrow bezels all around. On the bottom rear edge is a raised cylindrical extrusion which holds the batteries and pitches the keyboard up at the back for more ergonomic typing. There are no other adjustments, nor a wrist rest.

The battery cover snaps on and off via a magnetic connector, and at the edge of the battery compartment is a push button for Bluetooth pairing. 

20170613_120206.thumb.jpg.c77d487890ea2666ceb31f23066f9450.jpg